Thread poster: Ksenia Yakovleva

Ksenia Yakovleva
Germany
Local time: 09:09
German to Russian
+ ...
May 9, 2014

Hello!
I am a newby freelance translator and about to sign a non-disclosure-agreement with an agency. From what I read here I understood that most of it is perfectly normal, but I have a question about the "non-compete clause", where it says "the translator/writer will not operate, possess, be employed by, or consult for, either directly or indirectly, any business or entity that offers programs, systems or techniques similar to those utilized by _company name_". It refers to the time while I am working for this agency and two years after completion of the contract.
I am not sure what it means. As a freelance translator, I definitely will be employed by companies which are similar to this one. It is not a translation agency in the first place but a marketing company which employs freelance writers and translators. So would I be breaking the agreement if I worked for another similar agency?
Thanks in advance!

Anton Konashenok  Identity Verified
Czech Republic
English to Russian
+ ...
Don't walk - run May 9, 2014

The clause in question is dangerously vague and exposes you to serious abuse. Personally, I would never, ever sign anything with this kind of wording. Either they make it reasonable and specific, or they can look for a potential victim elsewhere.

Sheila Wilson  Identity Verified
Spain
Local time: 08:09
Member (2007)
English
+ ...
What on earth are they referring to? May 9, 2014

Have you thought to ask them that? I wonder if they can give you a straight answer? Or perhaps they have no idea: it just sounded awfully useful and legal-like.

We can't possibly even know who we're working for indirectly, as that would be the end-client of agencies a lot of the time, and agencies often don't tell us if we don't need to know.

Anyway, similar techniques??? Does that exclude working for anyone who uses Word to keep track of changes, as they do?