Thread poster: Hilary Decaumont

Hilary Decaumont  Identity Verified
France
Local time: 09:55
Member (2013)
French to English
Jun 5, 2014

Hi everyone.
I have been contacted by an agency and after several email exchanges, mainly due to them trying to beat down my prices (same old story!) they have now asked me to register on their database and download their CAT software. They say that it is their intention that all projects will eventually be handled via their own software.

I have two issues with this:

1. Benefit I'm not sure how using THEIR CAT tool can benefit anyone but them. I see it as a way that they can get me to do some of their translations and create their TM and glossaries, only to turn to someone cheaper at a later date, once they have an adequate database, or even do the translations in-house without using a qualified translator at all.

2. Confidentiality. I am a certified translator and am bound by confidentiality. I certainly would not want to share details of any of my certified translations with unknown translators all over the world via a third party's software program.

As far as I am concerned, I will certainly refuse to use their CAT tool for certified translations, but wonder if anyone has thoughts on the first point.

Am I seeing things too negatively? Apart from bringing me work from this particular agency - and to be honest, I have more than enough work at the moment - what are the possible advantages of working with an agency's own software?

And are there any other pitfalls that I haven't even considered? Does anyone have any experience and/or views on the subject?

Thanks for any input.

Vladimir Pochinov  Identity Verified
Russian Federation
Member (2002)
English to Russian
User experience may leave much to be desired Jun 5, 2014

You did hit the points here, Hilary.