https://www.proz.com/forum/business_issues/273217-how_can_i_politely_ask_clients_to_be_my_references.html

How can I politely ask clients to be my references?
Thread poster: Navarut Y.
Navarut Y.
Navarut Y.  Identity Verified
Thailand
Local time: 19:47
Member (2014)
English to Thai
Aug 11, 2014

Hi!

I am a newbie in international translation market. Previously, I had only one regular client and I have just started to work for several companies last month. However, I would like to apply to few more translation companies in the nearest future but some of them ask for 2 - 3 references. So, I am not sure how to ask the clients to be my references politely. I am afraid that they might think I want to work with another company more than working with them or they might be a
... See more
Hi!

I am a newbie in international translation market. Previously, I had only one regular client and I have just started to work for several companies last month. However, I would like to apply to few more translation companies in the nearest future but some of them ask for 2 - 3 references. So, I am not sure how to ask the clients to be my references politely. I am afraid that they might think I want to work with another company more than working with them or they might be annoyed. If you faced this situation before, please give me some suggestions.

Thank you in advance!
Collapse

Neil Coffey
Neil Coffey  Identity Verified
United Kingdom
Local time: 13:47
French to English
+ ...
I would worry more about confidentiality than your specific worry... Aug 11, 2014

This is an issue that bedevils the industry as a whole and is ultimately a bit of a paradox: clients would like to live in a world where everybody else provides them with references and examples of work done for third parties, but where they themselves never disclose anything.