Thread poster: yomsg
yomsg
yomsg
Egypt
Local time: 07:25
Arabic to English
+ ...
Feb 20, 2015

I am a certified Arabic/English-English Arabic translator. I read the works of Irish authors and i want to translate their books into Arabic. But I do not know how to buy copy rights. I attempted to contact the publishers even the authors themselves via internet but I got no answer. Is there someone who can tell me what to do?
Best regards

Tim Friese
Tim Friese  Identity Verified
United States
Local time: 00:25
Member (2013)
Arabic to English
+ ...
Personal connections often work Feb 20, 2015

I'm somewhat familiar with the Arabic-English literary translation world as I know a number of authors and translators, and I can say that it seems to work based on personal connections to a large extent. Here are some brainstorming options for how you can move forward in this world:

Go to literary events and talk to people, authors, critics, publishers, book store owners, etc.
Definitely talk to any published authors/translators you already know.
Go to Ireland and/or th
... See more
I'm somewhat familiar with the Arabic-English literary translation world as I know a number of authors and translators, and I can say that it seems to work based on personal connections to a large extent. Here are some brainstorming options for how you can move forward in this world:

Go to literary events and talk to people, authors, critics, publishers, book store owners, etc.
Definitely talk to any published authors/translators you already know.
Go to Ireland and/or the UK and repeat the above.
Translate a short segment of a work to serve as a portfolio piece for you and also possibly attract interested readers. Consider publishing it in a journal of literature or translated literature.
Are the authors active on social media like twitter? Engage with them. In any case, consider tweeting one-sentence translations of a work and tag the author.

Maybe others will have more ideas!
Collapse

Usch Pilz