Need for agreed rate before test and many forms
Thread poster: Frank Wong
Frank Wong
Frank Wong  Identity Verified
Local time: 22:59
Chinese to English
+ ...
Mar 5, 2015

For a couple of times, agencies use e-mails to let me know that they are glad I am interested in them or they are looking for translators for their upcoming projects. I am thrilled in this case, because as a freelancer, I may have a good chance to enlarge my client base. Some of them will ask me to fill out tons of forms and do a test sample.That is Ok,a good way to know me and whether my skill can live up to their expectations. There is a funny thing. They never talk about the rate before provi... See more
For a couple of times, agencies use e-mails to let me know that they are glad I am interested in them or they are looking for translators for their upcoming projects. I am thrilled in this case, because as a freelancer, I may have a good chance to enlarge my client base. Some of them will ask me to fill out tons of forms and do a test sample.That is Ok,a good way to know me and whether my skill can live up to their expectations. There is a funny thing. They never talk about the rate before providing their forms and samples. Let's say, what if I passed the test, and your rate is below my minimum rate? My time would be wasted. I am wondering why they are doing business in this way. My wild guess is that their rate is too high to worth a mention in advance, sarcastically. I think it is a standard procedure to work out a agreed rate before a translator can take a test or fill out many forms, like NDA etc. I alway suggest them that we should follow this procedure. One time, a PM was not very happy about my suggestion. Did any fellow translator have the same experience; what do you think?

[Edited at 2015-03-05 16:47 GMT]
Collapse

Paulo Eduardo -  Pro Knowledge
Paulo Eduardo - Pro Knowledge  Identity Verified
Brazil
Local time: 11:59
Member (2008)
Portuguese to English
+ ...