Pages in topic:   [1 2 3] >
Graduate: Stick to PM job, or start own agency?
Thread poster: Portia Tanner
Portia Tanner
United Kingdom
Jun 4, 2015

Hi all,

I would like to share my current dilemma in the hope of receiving some words of wisdom from industry veterans.

I am a French and Spanish graduate who is shortly due to receive her Masters in Translation Studies. I decided to undertake the Masters straight after my undergraduate course so that I had professional and relevant qualifications to start my own home-based business as I do not want to subscribe to the 9-5 lifestyle and love the appeal of working from home. I always planned to start my own online boutique translation agency.

However, 2 months ago I was offered a job as a project manager in a neighboring town (I have had to relocate as it is 1.5 hours away). These are extremely hard to come by in my area, and I know that I would have to wait years for another position like this to come up. The money is not great - in fact, I have friends walking into call centres earning more. There is progression each year with moderate increases, but we're talking years down the line before I'd be satisfied with a salary working there.

My dilemma therefore is... do I follow my dream and attempt to start my own agency, allowing me to work from home and be with friends/family/partner while I'm young and a fresh grad, or do I play this sensibly and stick out the PM job which is hard to come by in my area to get experience under my belt for a few years?

I sit in the office throughout the day and do enjoy it, but I constantly have at the back of my mind a voice telling me ''you could be building your own brand right now''.

I'd really appreciate your thoughts on this as I've been driving myself mad for the past month.

Best wishes,
P

Direct link Reply with quote

Mikhail Kropotov  Identity Verified
Russian Federation
Local time: 08:13
Member (2005)
English to Russian
+ ...