https://www.proz.com/forum/business_issues/295394-fly_abroad_and_interprete.html

Fly abroad and interprete
Thread poster: Soonthon LUPKITARO(Ph.D.)
Soonthon LUPKITARO(Ph.D.)
Soonthon LUPKITARO(Ph.D.)  Identity Verified
Thailand
Local time: 13:39
English to Thai
+ ...
Dec 3, 2015

Dear Prozians

I decide to share my latest experience so that interpreters are aware of possible risks. I will not reveal the name of counterpart but they are translation and interpretation agency in an EU country.

They contacted my in August to travel and do interpretation in a long-term of around 5 months under project of very technical and top security training. We accepted on prices and related conditions of my travel into that country.
I studied that I need an
... See more
Dear Prozians

I decide to share my latest experience so that interpreters are aware of possible risks. I will not reveal the name of counterpart but they are translation and interpretation agency in an EU country.

They contacted my in August to travel and do interpretation in a long-term of around 5 months under project of very technical and top security training. We accepted on prices and related conditions of my travel into that country.
I studied that I need an employment visa and asked the agency for supporting documents, only 2 papers. They deviated the issue and said I will need a business visa -- by quoting the Embassy's advice -- which contained mistakes. I asked for other materials as well e.g. documents to be interpreted during training. They replied to me slowly in early November.

I continually reported about progress on my side. They kept silent.
I asked again and intended to test with their advice. They gave me an invitation letter in the end of November. I submitted relevant documents to the Embassy. The Embassy declined my visa application by saying that my conditions require an employment visa application.