Thread poster: Jennifer Forbes
Jennifer Forbes
Jennifer Forbes  Identity Verified
Local time: 16:55
French to English
+ ...
In memoriam
Jan 29, 2016

Recently, a couple of agencies for which I've been working for several years have asked me for ID documents, copies of passport, driving licence, etc. and even for references from existing clients or previous employers.
I'm not willing to provide copies of my ID documents and politely explain that we are constantly warned in the media or by the police to be extremely cautious about sending such copies because of the risk of identity theft and other kinds of fraud. (Think Talk-Talk).
... See more
Recently, a couple of agencies for which I've been working for several years have asked me for ID documents, copies of passport, driving licence, etc. and even for references from existing clients or previous employers.
I'm not willing to provide copies of my ID documents and politely explain that we are constantly warned in the media or by the police to be extremely cautious about sending such copies because of the risk of identity theft and other kinds of fraud. (Think Talk-Talk).
As to references, surely the agency, which is familiar with my work, is itself my reference? I don't want to ask clients for references (fishing for compliments?) and in most cases it would infringe my confidentiality agreement if I did.
The agencies which want my ID say that it is required to enable them to fulfill some ISO standard and that, if I don't comply, they won't be able to continue working with me.
Is that reasonable? Have other Prozians encountered this problem lately? What should I do?
Puzzled of Penzance
Collapse

Lingua 5B
Lingua 5B  Identity Verified
Bosnia and Herzegovina
Local time: 17:55
Member (2009)
English to Croatian
+ ...
Are they good clients? Jan 29, 2016

I understand your concerns, however, you say they are long-term established clients?