Juliano Martins  Identity Verified
Brazil
Local time: 02:26
Member (2008)
English to Portuguese
+ ...
May 31, 2016

Hi people,

I have been translating for 8 years now. And I have a spreadsheet with all my jobs since day one, in June 2008. Therefore, I have very detailed statistics.

Do you keep a track record as well?
How has it been for you throughout your career?

I’m going to share my yearly results with you (wordcounts and money earned in USD in today’s exchange rate compared to BRL – applying today’s exchange rate may cause an imprecision, but let’s do
... See more
Hi people,

I have been translating for 8 years now. And I have a spreadsheet with all my jobs since day one, in June 2008. Therefore, I have very detailed statistics.

Do you keep a track record as well?
How has it been for you throughout your career?

I’m going to share my yearly results with you (wordcounts and money earned in USD in today’s exchange rate compared to BRL – applying today’s exchange rate may cause an imprecision, but let’s do it this way). And I would like to read about your opinions and experiences.

Year 2008, June to December, 326 K translated words, 7 K proofed words, 16 K USD.
Year 2009, 586 K translated words, 15 K proofed words, 20 K USD.
Year 2010, 709 K translated words, 909 K proofed words, 29 K USD.
Year 2011, 1121 K translated words, 871 K proofed words, 39 K USD.
Year 2012, 1241 K translated words, 708 K proofed words, 50 K USD.
Year 2013, 1264 K translated words, 515 K proofed words, 55 K USD.
Year 2014, 1257 K translated words, 419 K proofed words, 57 K USD.
Year 2015, 972 K translated words, 446 K proofed words, 60 K USD.
Year 2016, January to May, 451 K translated words, 278 K proofed words, 30 K USD.

Regards!
Collapse

Gabriela Gavrilova
Gabriela Gavrilova  Identity Verified
Local time: 07:26
German to Bulgarian
+ ...
Machine Translation? May 31, 2016

Hello,

I'm wondering how you manage to translate 4000 words every single day?