What are the procedures to \"certify\" my documents for trial?
Thread poster: Kevin Schlottmann
Kevin Schlottmann
Kevin Schlottmann  Identity Verified
United States
Local time: 17:14
German to English
Jun 26, 2002

I have been working as a translator for a law firm for some time now, and my case is scheduled to go to trial.

What are the certification procedures that I need to go through in order to \"certify\" my documents for use at trial?

Also, is there a federal rule that addresses this issue?

Thank you!

Jane Lamb-Ruiz (X)
Jane Lamb-Ruiz (X)  Identity Verified
French to English
+ ...
If the US Jun 27, 2002

You put the following phrase in at the end of each document:

I, the undersigned, x, hereby certify that I am a professional [German-to-English] translator and that the foregoing [document] is a true and faithful translation of the [German] language original. [You can get your lawyer friends to add to that if they want. ] Then, you type in

Date:

Signature:

And get a notary public to apply his or her seal to it. He/she can also stamp in the dat
... See more
You put the following phrase in at the end of each document:

I, the undersigned, x, hereby certify that I am a professional [German-to-English] translator and that the foregoing [document] is a true and faithful translation of the [German] language original. [You can get your lawyer friends to add to that if they want. ] Then, you type in

Date:

Signature:

And get a notary public to apply his or her seal to it. He/she can also stamp in the date. I believe it\'s on the seal. Probably one of the lawyers in your firm is a notary. If not, you find one, pay them a buck or two a document, show them ID proving who you are and sign the document in their presence. If you are in Germany, the notary will be at a US consulate or embassy.

That\'s it.

[ This Message was edited by: on 2002-06-27 00:55 ]

[ This Message was edited by: on 2002-06-27 00:57 ]
Collapse

cheungmo
cheungmo
English to French
+ ...