Can you charge more after quoting if work requires additional tasks
Thread poster: Karen Tucker
Karen Tucker  Identity Verified
United States
Local time: 18:14
French to English
Oct 21, 2005

Hi everyone,

I'm translating an academic paper for a French professor for whom I have worked before. I didn't give him a specific quote on this job because I regularly do work for him and his colleagues and they know my current rate. However, he asked me to use American Psychological Assn. style, which meant spending a lot of time looking up guidelines in the APA style book (I have a a Master's in psychology, but I received the degree a long time ago). He also expected me to find online the original English questions and categories used in two psychological surveys (which he had translated into French, but he didn't provide me with the original English). I'm almost finished with the translation and just found out he expects me to find the original questions and categories.

I always do research when translating, but I've spent far more time on it for this translation than I normally do (several hours' worth) and feel I should be paid more. I only want to charge him 1 centime more per word, but I know it's considered inappropriate to charge more after the initial quote. I feel I'm doing tasks that are more appropriate for a graduate assistant.

I don't want to lose him and his colleagues as regular clients, although I've been working for this psychology department for so long it's unlikely they'd change translators at this point. But I'm also partly to blame for not discussing this with him at the beginning of the job, which I put aside for a while to focus on more urgent jobs.

I'd be interested in hearing your thoughts.

Thanks very much,
Karen

Direct link Reply with quote

Sara Freitas
France
Local time: 00:14
French to English
Put this one in the 'live and learn' category Oct 21, 2005

Karen,