What are the standard terms of business incl in client/translator contracts?
Thread poster: AminD
AminD
AminD
Local time: 23:03
English to Arabic
Nov 29, 2005

Hello,

I would like to know what the standard terms of business are in contracts. Are there specific issues which need extra attention, before signing a contract? How does it work..., do translators (especially Free-Lancers) create sometimes their own contracts? What if there's only a verbal contract? What if one party breaks the contracts?

I hope I will get many answers. I am a Translation student, working on my final project and this forum already gave me much insight
... See more
Hello,

I would like to know what the standard terms of business are in contracts. Are there specific issues which need extra attention, before signing a contract? How does it work..., do translators (especially Free-Lancers) create sometimes their own contracts? What if there's only a verbal contract? What if one party breaks the contracts?

I hope I will get many answers. I am a Translation student, working on my final project and this forum already gave me much insight in the world of translation!

Thanks in advance.

With regards,
Amin
Collapse

de-ru-es-en
de-ru-es-en  Identity Verified
Germany
Local time: 00:03
Russian to German
+ ...
Standard contracts for freelancers, various issues on creating contracts Nov 29, 2005

AminD wrote:
I would like to know what the standard terms of business are in contracts.

Many translators associations issued a standard contract. Have a look there. Many issues depend on different legal systems of different countries.

AminD wrote:
Are there specific issues which need extra attention, before signing a contract?

Too many for a forum reply.
Many single issues have been discussed even in this forum.