Pages in topic:   [1 2] >
Freelancing as a student - the formalities
Thread poster: eva75

eva75
English
+ ...
Apr 22, 2006

I have a translation degree and as a postgrad student have been doing translation jobs on and off over the past few months, some of which have paid quite well. None of my clients (based in Germany) required VAT details (my freelance income would be below the limit anyhow) or a social security number or any such formalities for that matter. I'm thinking of studying for another year and scraping as much "tax-free" money together as possible to pay off debts. Are there any catches?

Are there companies/agencies in countries where they will require the above details? I've recently seen freelance work for a government agency and they do require one to have one's own business. Doesn't this exclude part-time students from doing this work though?

I would love to have feedback from any other translators based in Europe, who have been or indeed are in this position.

Thank you.

Direct link Reply with quote

Gerard de Noord  Identity Verified
France
Local time: 02:25
Member (2003)
German to Dutch
+ ...
The formalities Apr 22, 2006

Hi Eva75,

Issuing invoices and paying taxes are no formalities, they're professional obligations.

In your profile you don't offer any country-specific information. You might be studying at the University of Guernsey, but how could we tell?

Regards,
Gerard

Tim van den Oudenhoven
Germany
Member (2006)
English to Dutch
+ ...
no real catches Apr 23, 2006

Hey Eva,

I am in pretty much the same position as you are: I have a uni degree and I'm now doing postgrad study along with being a freelance translator.

I actually do have a VAT-ID and I don't have to pay taxes on the first 5500 € I make a year, because of a special tax rate (in Belgium) for students who want to run an own business. And I didn't have to pay anything to set up my "business", too.

The VAT-ID makes you look more professional in any case