Charge VAT from Spanish client with a NIF no.?
Thread poster: pcovs
pcovs
pcovs
Denmark
Local time: 17:56
English to Danish
Oct 29, 2006

Based in Denmark I should normally charge VAT from a client in another EU country who does not have a VAT no., but what about Spanish clients?

As I understand it, a freelancer in Spain does not have to have a VAT no. What do I do in this case? Can I still charge without VAT, or do I have to treat this person as a "private client" and charge VAT?

lexical
lexical  Identity Verified
Spain
Portuguese to English
freelancers in Spain can have VAT numbers Oct 29, 2006

Firstly, it's not true that freelancers in Spain do not, as a rule, have VAT numbers. You need to ask if they have a "número de registro de operador intracomunitario" (NROI - intraCommunity registration number = VAT number). Freelance translators can apply for this by ticking the appropriate box on the right form. As a freelancer, I have one, though I've heard of others being told by their tax office that they can't (simple misinterpretation of the rules).

That said, it's not compu
... See more
Firstly, it's not true that freelancers in Spain do not, as a rule, have VAT numbers. You need to ask if they have a "número de registro de operador intracomunitario" (NROI - intraCommunity registration number = VAT number). Freelance translators can apply for this by ticking the appropriate box on the right form. As a freelancer, I have one, though I've heard of others being told by their tax office that they can't (simple misinterpretation of the rules).

That said, it's not compulsory to have a NROI and freelancers whose work is mostly inside Spain may not bother. We still have to account for VAT though, alas!

Our VAT numbers are the same as our NIFs, with "ES" as a prefix, but you need to check that they are registered by entering their number at http://ec.europa.eu/taxation_customs/vies/en/vieshome.htm.