Agency requests translation memory
Thread poster: david angel
david angel
Local time: 12:30
French to English
+ ...
Nov 27, 2006

I have been translating full time for three years, but for the first time an agency has asked me for the TM I used on the project, without offering any payment. I wonder how other translators respond. (The agency is a new client, incidentally, not one with whom I have built up a relationship). Any information would be much appreciated.

Direct link Reply with quote

Han Li  Identity Verified
China
Local time: 19:30
English to Chinese
+ ...
Why not? Nov 27, 2006

I think that's a reasonable request. I always send the TM I used in my project to the client without offering any payment.

Rahi Moosavi  Identity Verified
Canada
Local time: 07:30
Member (2004)
Farsi (Persian) to English
+ ...
TM Nov 27, 2006

Was this a new project which you created a new/blank TM for? or did you have an existing TM and used it for this project (how odd the chances may be).

In any case, even if you don't provide the TM the client could easily WinAlign the source/target files and create the TM on their own. So, when one has both source and target documents, delivering the TM is not a very special favor to do.

Timothy Barton
Local time: 13:30
French to English
+ ...
There's no reason why you should have one Nov 27, 2006

I use one big memory for everything. I can always extract based on the client and project values if I need to (or open the project, add an extra memory and export all segments), but I don't see why we should do this free of charge if it's not negotiated beforehand. But you might also want to do a favour to your client, if it's a good one.

Lawyer-Linguist  Identity Verified
Portugal
Dutch to English
+ ...
No skin off your nose ... Nov 27, 2006

davidangel wrote: