Professional Indemnity Insurance for translators/interpreters in the UK
Thread poster: Ines Cas (X)
Ines Cas (X)
Ines Cas (X)

Jan 9, 2007

Dear colleagues,
I would like to buy Professional Indemnity Insurance, I’m a freelance interpreter and translator (qualified: DipTrans and DPSI and Member of the IoL) and work only with agencies in the UK. Could someone advise me which one of the following is the best?

Shephard
... See more
Dear colleagues,
I would like to buy Professional Indemnity Insurance, I’m a freelance interpreter and translator (qualified: DipTrans and DPSI and Member of the IoL) and work only with agencies in the UK. Could someone advise me which one of the following is the best?

Shephard Herriot Ltd (Shephards)
http://www.linguistscover.co.uk/

McParland Finn Ltd
www.m-f-l.co.uk

These are the only one I know of. Does anyone know any others?
Thank you.
Ines
Collapse

Carole Paquis
Carole Paquis  Identity Verified
United Kingdom
Local time: 18:38
Member (2007)
English to French
Yes I do know of others Jan 9, 2007

I am an MCIL too (but only a translator) and live in the UK. After shopping around, I got insured with Jardine Lloyd Thompson. Good value and very helpful when you need information.

Here's the link

http://www.jltgroup.com/index.php4

accbuss
accbuss
Spain
Local time: 18:38
Spanish to English
+ ...
Another possibility Jan 9, 2007

Try the Professional Contractors Group (www.pcg.org.uk) who offer such a policy from Randell Dorling Limited (http://www.randelldorling.co.uk/) with a discount. Cost for a one man limited co. could be around £170 per year.

Paul Stevens
Paul Stevens  Identity Verified
Local time: 17:38
Member (2003)
Spanish to English
+ ...
Cost and another option Jan 10, 2007

accbuss wrote:

Try the Professional Contractors Group (www.pcg.org.uk) who offer such a policy from Randell Dorling Limited (http://www.randelldorling.co.uk/) with a discount. Cost for a one man limited co. could be around £170 per year.