https://www.proz.com/forum/business_issues/73330-us_translators_liability_issues_for_translations_to_be_used_in_court.html

US translators -liability issues for translations to be used in court
Thread poster: Emilie Fahlenkamp
Emilie Fahlenkamp
Emilie Fahlenkamp  Identity Verified
United States
Local time: 14:44
English to Danish
+ ...
May 18, 2007

Hello,

I have been sent a large document by an attorney regarding a tax dispute, to be used in court, and am unsure about liability issues involved. Say this attorney loses the case and decides the translation is to blame; could I be held liable without insurance, and what are the issues involved in this kind of thing?

Any advice is welcome, as I have no previous experience in the area and do not want to risk more than necessary, but am unsure of the implications of a
... See more
Hello,

I have been sent a large document by an attorney regarding a tax dispute, to be used in court, and am unsure about liability issues involved. Say this attorney loses the case and decides the translation is to blame; could I be held liable without insurance, and what are the issues involved in this kind of thing?

Any advice is welcome, as I have no previous experience in the area and do not want to risk more than necessary, but am unsure of the implications of a worst case scenario.

Thanks in advance,

Emilie
Collapse

Henry Hinds
Henry Hinds  Identity Verified
United States
Local time: 12:44
English to Spanish
+ ...
In memoriam
Liability? May 18, 2007

As far as I know, any translation to be used in court in the US does not have to be taken at face value because any party may challenge its accuracy with their own expert should they choose to do so. The translator may also be called to testify concerning the translation and to explain anything the parties may wish explained, and be examined and cross-examined.

I would not see any liability issue there. You would be treated just like any other expert witness. The court can then deci