https://www.proz.com/forum/business_issues/86330-responsibility_for_copyright.html

Responsibility for Copyright
Thread poster: Claudia J.
Claudia J.
Claudia J.
United States
Local time: 08:19
German to English
+ ...
Oct 11, 2007

Dear all,

As I am a fairly new self-employed translator, I have a question regarding copyright.

Do I have to check where the copyright lies for any text a client wants me to translate? Or can I avoid this somehow? Who is responsible for making sure that the person who wants the translation holds the copyright and is allowed to have the respective text translated?

I can't imagine the logistics of making sure that every one of my clients is the copyright hold
... See more
Dear all,

As I am a fairly new self-employed translator, I have a question regarding copyright.

Do I have to check where the copyright lies for any text a client wants me to translate? Or can I avoid this somehow? Who is responsible for making sure that the person who wants the translation holds the copyright and is allowed to have the respective text translated?

I can't imagine the logistics of making sure that every one of my clients is the copyright holder of each text.

Please, if you have any information about this, please post.
Collapse

Viktoria Gimbe
Viktoria Gimbe  Identity Verified
Canada
English to French
+ ...
Common practice Oct 11, 2007

Since you are only translating the material and not publishing it, the responsibility lies with the client. Copyright law applies to those who publish the material.

As translator, it is not your responsibility to check if the client holds permission to publish the translation. Imagine if it were - we would really be underpaid!

Paul Merriam
Paul Merriam  Identity Verified
Russian to English
+ ...
Ask them Oct 11, 2007