Pages in topic:   [1 2] >
Asking for three referees in a quote
Thread poster: Simon S

Simon S  Identity Verified
Local time: 10:44
English to French
Oct 23, 2007

A potential client asks for three referees in a quote. From my experience, shouldn't they ask for referees AFTER they decide you're a good candidate? I've been working in-house so I'm totally new to freelancing but to ask for this kind of info in a quote??

In my case I would have to provide three references from my in-house jobs which means I have to contact them first, etc... very complicated for a simple quote! Should I go through this assle or simply let them read my c.v. (which states "references available upon request", etc..)

Thanks!

Direct link Reply with quote

Christiane Allen  Identity Verified
United States
Local time: 07:44
Member (2007)
English to French
No problemo! Oct 23, 2007

Pas de problème Simon! Je crois connaître le cabinet auquel vous faites allusion. Ils ne vous demanderont vos références qu’une fois avoir accepté d’aller plus en avant avec votre candidature. Inutile donc de leur fournir vos références d’emblée.

sokolniki  Identity Verified
United States
Local time: 09:44
English to Russian
+ ...
Honestly... Oct 23, 2007

... the more information (except for absolutely necessary Work Order, NDA, NCA or similar documents - but these come when you GET the job, right?) an agency requires, the less are the chances you will ever get a job from them. This is from my personal experience and I might be wrong.

But still, this one agency asked me to fill in their online questionnaire (20 min.), send them my CV, then to spend with them about 30 minutes on the phone (as they apparently did not bother to look at my CV/questionnaire), etc. When they tried to arrange a 2-hour long telephone conference briefing (apparently trying to explain what translation/interpreting is), I kindly asked to disregard my application.