Thread poster: Jenya Meltser-Rakevich
Jenya Meltser-Rakevich
Jenya Meltser-Rakevich
Local time: 22:24
English to Russian
+ ...
Nov 30, 2007

Dear fellow translators,

a client of mine asked me to translate a letter and certify it so that it would be acceptable in courts. Does anyone know how this can be done? Maybe I can write a letter, saying that I am an experienced translator and this translation has been done to the best of my knowledge, and get it notarized? Would this be enough?

Thank you very much for your help,

Jenya

Yolanda Broad
Yolanda Broad  Identity Verified
United States
Member (2000)
French to English
+ ...

Ask your client what specific instructions s/he has received Nov 30, 2007

Different courts have different requirements, so the most appropriate step to take is to ask your client what that particular court wants. I've seen a whole range of requirements, from a simple letter of attestation as to my expertise, to notarization of that my letter and translations, to a requirement that I provide my ATA membership number along with the translation, to demonstrate that I'm certified to translate in that particular pair. And I'm sure I haven't seen it all.

Yola
... See more
Different courts have different requirements, so the most appropriate step to take is to ask your client what that particular court wants. I've seen a whole range of requirements, from a simple letter of attestation as to my expertise, to notarization of that my letter and translations, to a requirement that I provide my ATA membership number along with the translation, to demonstrate that I'm certified to translate in that particular pair. And I'm sure I haven't seen it all.

Yolanda Broad
Collapse

Ignacio Jimenez
Ignacio Jimenez
Local time: 20:24
English to Spanish
certified translations Nov 30, 2007

Hi Jenya.