Copyright- Do I Need to Announce it, or it is Automatic?
Thread poster: Juliana Brown

Juliana Brown  Identity Verified
Israel
Local time: 01:10
Member (2007)
Spanish to English
+ ...
Dec 20, 2007

In another twist concerning my "ghost" translation, I'm at the contract stage now, with the author being very nice and open to all suggestions. BUT...as I have waived the right to have my name appear anywhere in the book, press releases, etc., am curious whether I somehow forfeit copyright, if it does not appear in the book as "copyright- Juliana...".
Perhaps my lawyer colleagues could tell me whether the translation copyright is automatic....

Direct link Reply with quote

Gerard de Noord  Identity Verified
France
Local time: 07:10
Member (2003)
German to Dutch
+ ...
You can't eat your cake and have it, too Dec 20, 2007

Or is it the other way around.

I'm not a lawyer colleague and I don't now in which country your partners reside, but I have read all threads and it seems everybody thinks you're the person to translate this piece. If you don't stipulate anything in the conditions, my feeling is you'll waive your copyright. The writer will claim it.

But, if this is not one of the writer's ulterior motives and if all parties still want you to do the job, you could try to stipulate it in the contract.

Good luck,
Gerard

Israel
Member (2007)
Spanish to English
+ ...
TOPIC STARTER
Hi Gerard, Dec 20, 2007

I really can not ascribe any nasty motives to the author, who has been very fair, and as confused as myself in this matter. The fact is, he's left the wording of the contract up to me.
I do, however, need to know what the copyright situation would be in either case, and unfortunately my two in-house lawyers (father and husband, who ironically both work in international law...but not literary contracts) are not much help.
To be honest, this is more of a curiosity issue than a "give me what's mine" matter.

Gerard de Noord  Identity Verified
France
Local time: 07:10