Historical Statistics on Translation Rates?
Thread poster: Dmitri Platonov

Dmitri Platonov
Estonia
Local time: 01:15
German to Russian
+ ...
Feb 28, 2008

Hi dear all,

does anybody know a published statistics study on translation rates in last 5-10-15 years?
It is quite interesting for me. I feel like prices are going down and down, but I don't have any figures to confirm my hypothesis.
The language pair or country are not important, I'll be much obliged for every hint/link!

Best regards,

Dmitri

Direct link Reply with quote

jmadsen  Identity Verified
Local time: 00:15
Status quo at best Feb 29, 2008

In the 8 years I have been a freelancer, the rates in my marked section (English-Danish) have at best stayed at the same level. They certainly haven't been going up. Indeed, many clients are trying to reduce rates in more or less ingenious ways. I have lost several clients due to this... or let me rephrase: many agencies have lost a good freelancer

Some of the reasons for the rates being under pressure is increasing competition, poor negotiation tactics (both freelancers and PMs), and of course the weak dollar.
That's what I think.

Jørgen

xxxNMR
France
French to Dutch
+ ...
Historical rates evolution statistics aren't possible Feb 29, 2008

For me it is like comparing cats and dogs. Twenty years ago, we had no electronic dictionaries or internet, even hardly a computer. We didn't get files but paper originals. We didn't send our files electronically (no e-mail, no modem) but had to run to the post office or deliver our translations at the client's office. Believe me, ergonomically speaking we made an incredible progress in only 10-15 years. And we invoiced in number of target words (this does make a difference!). The other evolution is CAT, but I think this only contributed to dividing the market in two distinctive parts. And there were no translation websites, making comparison between translators easy, from the agency's point of view.