Best choice for a small agency: Trados or CafeTran?
Thread poster: BabelOn-line
BabelOn-line
BabelOn-line
United Kingdom
Local time: 04:01
English to French
+ ...
Jan 18, 2018

Dear Colleagues,

Yes, asking this question on the CafeTran section of the forum is probably introducing a bit of a bias... as the most perceptive of you certainly spotted Cafetran seems to have a very enthusiastic client base.

I run a small translation agency but also work as a translator myself. While most of my work is not repetitive (and OmegaT was perfectly adequate for the few jobs that were),
... See more
Dear Colleagues,

Yes, asking this question on the CafeTran section of the forum is probably introducing a bit of a bias... as the most perceptive of you certainly spotted Cafetran seems to have a very enthusiastic client base.

I run a small translation agency but also work as a translator myself. While most of my work is not repetitive (and OmegaT was perfectly adequate for the few jobs that were), some of my clients are big on Trados for the obvious reasons. I finally bought Trados Studio 2017 to run on my Mac. Ouch!

1/ Running Trados on a Mac (with VMWare) is not plain sailing - especially if you have been using Macs for a long time (think: accented characters, mac OS classic commands): some short cuts are ingrained in the muscle memory. I could not find any tutorial on how to create direct shortcut equivalents. If anyone knows of such a resource, I'd love to hear about it.

2/ I also work with a partner LSP and we would like all our translators to use a translation memory, the main goal being to insure the consistency of the terminology used in a project - not so much for dealing with masses of repeats or fuzzies.

– In these two instances (freelance linguists and small-ish agency), would you recommend CafeTran over Trados?
– Are there any obvious limitations to CafeTran viewed from an agency perspective?