Pages in topic:   [1 2] >
Open Source Freeware Translation Memory
Thread poster: Gabriela González

Gabriela González  Identity Verified
Local time: 02:32
English to Spanish
+ ...
Oct 15, 2009

Hello...! I am a freelance translator and would like to ask if there is any open source translation memory (freeware) that you can download and legally use for free -it doesn't matter if it is too simple- or if all of these products should be necessarily bought by the translators without no other possible choice.

Thank you very much in advance for your answers and information!

Gabriela (Buenos Aires - Argentina)

James McVay  Identity Verified
United States
Local time: 00:32
Russian to English
+ ...
DGT Translation Memory Oct 15, 2009

See this site: http://langtech.jrc.it/DGT-TM.html#Download

English to Spanish
+ ...
TOPIC STARTER
Thank you very much, James! I'll have a look. I'd like to add "no trial versions, please". Thanks! Oct 15, 2009

Gabriela González wrote:

Hello...! I am a freelance translator and would like to ask if there is any open source translation memory (freeware) that you can download and legally use for free -it doesn't matter if it is too simple- or if all of these products should be necessarily bought by the translators without no other possible choice.

Thank you very much in advance for your answers and information!

Gabriela (Buenos Aires - Argentina)

Clarisa Moraña  Identity Verified
Argentina
Member (2002)
English to Spanish
+ ...
OmegaT, The free (GPL) translation memory tool Oct 16, 2009

As explained at their Web site:

http://www.omegat.org/en/omegat.html

OmegaT is a free translation memory application written in Java. It is a tool intended for professional translators. It does not translate for you! (Software that does this is called "machine translation", and you will have to look elsewhere for it.) OmegaT has the following features:

* Fuzzy matching
* Match propagation
* Simultaneous processing of multiple-file projects