Heartsome anybody? (TMX problems - application keeps freezing after trying to import)
Thread poster: IT Pros Subs

IT Pros Subs
Italy
Local time: 21:23
Member (2005)
English to Italian
+ ...
Nov 12, 2009

Hi everybody I was the happiest of translators when I found out at last there was ONE professional CAT to run on my Mac OS so I bought my copy of Heartsome Translation Studio but since then I haven't been able to import ONE TMX file into any TM database !!!

In 12 years I have used several CAT tools so I am not a newbie...

The application keeps freezing after trying to import. I wonder if it is me (?) or maybe the list of advantages that the manufacturers have on their website is a bit too confident. I tried everything, TMX Validator/Editor but still the TMX won't open. Does anybody have any idea why? I am referring to a large file but haven't had any problem importing it into other CATs (Trados, SDLX, MemoQ)...

Also it seems to me that the requirement to choose a text code among hundreds before starting the project is quite tricky. How do I choose????

The user's manual is not that helpful. Thank you for any suggestions!

Monica

[Subject edited by staff or moderator 2009-11-12 19:02 GMT]

Direct link Reply with quote

Piotr Bienkowski  Identity Verified
Poland
Member (2005)
English to Polish
+ ...
Well, I'm afraid you bought the wrong CAT tool... Nov 12, 2009

Monica Paolillo wrote:
(...)
Also it seems to me that the requirement to choose a text code among hundreds before starting the project is quite tricky. How do I choose????

The user's manual is not that helpful. Thank you for any suggestions!

Monica

TMX files should be in unicode. Either UTF-8 or UTF-16.

There is a CAT tool that looks just like the Heartsome CAT, but also works

I'm not sure if I can mention its name in this context, it could be interpreted as free advertising for them. Not sure if the forum rules allow it.

But you can contact me privately and I will give you the details.

Regards,