Thread poster: Margreet Mohle

Margreet Mohle  Identity Verified
Canada
Local time: 05:42
Member (2010)
French to Dutch
+ ...
Jun 8, 2010

I'm new to CAT tools, and have tried to install Alchemy Publisher 2.0; however I cannot get the TM installed (Language Exchange), because of the prerequisite of Microsoft SQLServer Express, which in turn needs IIS. This is not available on the Home Edition of Windows xp (which happens to be what is on my computer), as I just found out after much searching. (I'm having a steep learning curve in IT terms).

Since I'm still trying to decide what CAT tool to get, I'd like to know if this will be a common problem to all CAT Tools. I'm thinking of getting another computer, and would like to make sure I get the right OS from the start.

Thanks for any input.

Margreet Mohle

Direct link Reply with quote

Stanislav Pokorny  Identity Verified
Czech Republic
Local time: 11:42
English to Czech
+ ...
Never heard of anything similar Jun 8, 2010

Hi Margreet,
I'm sorry for your experience. To answer your question, I'm not aware of any similar issues with other CATs.

After my experience with Across, I would, however, avoid any tool that installs any version of MS SQL Server. There are several reasons for that, possible compatibility issues like yours being one of them.

Grzegorz Gryc  Identity Verified
French to Polish
+ ...
IIS on XP Home... Jun 8, 2010

Stanislav Pokorny wrote:

I'm sorry for your experience. To answer your question, I'm not aware of any similar issues with other CATs.

True, IIS seems somehow exagerated.
And it seems we have a case of false publicity if the Alchemy guys omit to mention openly it doesn't work on XP Home which is still supported by MS ('til 2014)

Indeed, IIS is not provided with Windows XP Home.
Howewer, you can install it using procedures you can spot on the Net.
E.g. http://adamv.com/dev/articles/iis-on-xp-home
A Windows 2000 CD is needed.
It is not supported by MS but it works.