CAT tools on MAC (Parallels, VMware Fusion?)
Thread poster: Jeremy Simart
Jeremy Simart
France
Local time: 10:33
English to French
+ ...
Mar 24, 2011

Hi everyone,

I need little advice please. I work on a Mac (OS 10.5.8 / 2GHz Intel / 1Go Ram) and only needed to use Microsoft Office for Mac so far.

Now I'd like to know the best solution to run SDLX, Idiom and Passolo on my Mac.

I know Swordfish is compatible with Trados, but what about Idiom and Passolo? I never used them yet.

So, what would be the best solution to get Idiom and Passolo to work on my Mac then? Should I use Paralles or VMware Fusion? I have read a few reports on both, and Parallels seem to provide the best results.

In that case, I also need to buy a version of Windows (and maybe Microsoft Office?), right?
Which one would you advise? I'm totally new to Windows...

Thanks a lot in advance for helping me sorting that out!

Direct link Reply with quote

Rodolfo Raya  Identity Verified
Local time: 05:33
English to Spanish
Swordfish is compatible with Idiom Mar 24, 2011

Jeremy Simart wrote:

I know Swordfish is compatible with Trados, but what about Idiom and Passolo? I never used them yet.

Hi,

Swordfish is compatible with Idiom. Idiom uses XLIFF files with custom extensions and Swordfish handles those extensions without problems.

In theory, Passolo works with XLIFF files too but I have never tested compatibility.

Regards,
Rodolfo

Susanne Kress  Identity Verified
Spain
Member (2010)
Spanish to German
+ ...
Parallels Mar 24, 2011

Hi, Jeremy,

I am working on a Mac (10.6.6 / 3,06 GHz Intel Core i3 / 8GB Ram), Parallels Desktop 6.0 and Windos XP.

Trados Studio 2009 works perfectly. I don't even have Microsoft Office, only Office for Mac 2011. The only disadvantage of having no MS Office is that I do not have the Trados Preview function and therefore have to save the target text before reviewing it. But once saved, it opens perfectly from the Windows My Documents folder with Mac Office.