Pages in topic:   [1 2 3 4] >
Client specifies Trados - is Wordfast ok?
Thread poster: Jenny Nilsson

Jenny Nilsson  Identity Verified
Sweden
Local time: 19:44
English to Swedish
Jun 16, 2011

Hi!
Im new in the world of cat-tools and don't want to bother my clients with these kinds of questions.
My client wants me to confirm that I use Trados but since I am mostly on my Mac which runs Wordfast, I am wondering wheather I can work in Wordfast and make the file into a Trados-file to send to client if asked for.
The files I will recieve will be Word and PPT-files.

Also, if Wordfat is impossible, how quickly can one get into the Trados-world? I have access t
... See more
Hi!
Im new in the world of cat-tools and don't want to bother my clients with these kinds of questions.
My client wants me to confirm that I use Trados but since I am mostly on my Mac which runs Wordfast, I am wondering wheather I can work in Wordfast and make the file into a Trados-file to send to client if asked for.
The files I will recieve will be Word and PPT-files.

Also, if Wordfat is impossible, how quickly can one get into the Trados-world? I have access to a PC and should be able to download the program, I am wondering if it is feasible since I am kind of desperate for work
Collapse

LegalTranslatr2  Identity Verified
United States
Local time: 13:44
Portuguese to English
+ ...
Wordfast Jun 16, 2011

Wordfast and Trados are completely compatible.

In fact, I have noticed that more and more companies are becoming more comfortable with other tools and are now requesting either Trados or Wordfast.

Vadim Kadyrov  Identity Verified
Ukraine
Local time: 20:44
Member (2011)
English to Russian
+ ...
It may be that clients send trados translation memory Jun 16, 2011

And you won`t be able to use it with Wordfast (still, I am not familiar with Wordfast at all, and I am not sure you won`t).