Choosing a CAT tool - advice needed
Thread poster: Ximena Delcas
Ximena Delcas
Local time: 16:57
Feb 23, 2012

Dear all,

I've been freelancing for a couple of years now and have recently sat the Diptrans test (ouch).

At the moment my work seems to always come in at the same time due to the nature of my clients work (i.e. quarterly meetings) and so in a short space of time I have to get through qute a lot, so I'm considering the use of CAT tools to help me through these busy times.

I would really appreciate any reccomendations on which one to choose.

I'm based in the UK and translate from English to Spanish and vice versa.

Many thanks in advance.

Ximena Del Castillo

Direct link Reply with quote

Diana Coada  Identity Verified
United Kingdom
Portuguese to English
+ ...
Try the free ones first Feb 23, 2012

You can experiment with Wordfast Anywhere which is web-based, OmegaT - standalone, or Anaphraseus which works within Open Office.

Bernard Lieber  Identity Verified
Local time: 17:57
English to French
+ ...
Trial Versions Feb 23, 2012

If I were you I'd download trial versions available from Alchemy, MemoQ, Fluency, Trados, etc. and tried them out and see what suits you best

Laurent KRAULAND  Identity Verified
France
French to German
+ ...
Agreeing with Diana and Bernard Feb 23, 2012

From what I see in your post, there is no reason why you should "commit yourself" to any given CAT tool.

As an example, Wordfast Anywhere does more than just a good job and can be used by professionals too.

Don't get trapped by shelling out 700 € or more for a single application.

esperantisto  Identity Verified
Local time: 18:57
Member (2006)
English to Russian
+ ...
More details needed Feb 23, 2012