Suggestions on a CAT tool: Trados or Wordfast?
Thread poster: Ana Burger

Ana Burger  Identity Verified
United States
Local time: 04:40
Member (Oct 2017)
English to Spanish
+ ...

Posted via
ProZ.com Mobile

Oct 13

Hello everyone, I started as freelance translator a year ago after leaving ny full time job for a translation company. I would like to have some suggestions about wha type of Trados or word fast to buy. I see that most request for translations ask for trados or word fast, which one is more convenient for a freelance translator that have very few clients or no clients?

Your help will be greatly appreciated

Ana

Direct link Reply with quote

neilmac  Identity Verified
Spain
Local time: 10:40
Spanish to English
+ ...
WordFast Classic for me Oct 13

I've been using WF Classic for several years now and I get by just fine. I looked into Trados because a translator colleague recommended it, but I found it far too complicated and too expensive. With WordFast, I was already using it the same day as I installed it. And if you like it, you can always upgrade to WF Pro or Anywhere.

I suppose it depends to a great extent on the agencies you're going to work with. I only work with one or two and they are usually happy to just receive the translations in Word/Excel/PowerPoint/PDF... And they never ask for TMs, which I wouldn't be happy about giving them anyway.

Samuel Murray  Identity Verified
Netherlands
Member (2006)
English to Afrikaans
+ ...
@Ana Oct 13

Ana Burger wrote:
I see that most requests for translations ask for Trados or Wordfast. Which one is more convenient for a freelance translator that have very few clients or no clients?