Help getting started with CafeTran.
Thread poster: Stephanie Lindqvist
Stephanie Lindqvist
Stephanie Lindqvist  Identity Verified
Belgium
Local time: 17:46
Swedish to English
Jan 23, 2018

I've never used CAT software before but I've got a big project coming up and it will really come in handy. I've been trying out CafeTran and at the beginning it seemed great, but already in the first document I've been running into some problems.

1. I keep getting an error message that reads "Transfer source tags to target. Type a tag number and pres Esc key." This is after clicking the "next" button precisely as I did in the first segments, then all of a sudden it stops working. A
... See more
I've never used CAT software before but I've got a big project coming up and it will really come in handy. I've been trying out CafeTran and at the beginning it seemed great, but already in the first document I've been running into some problems.

1. I keep getting an error message that reads "Transfer source tags to target. Type a tag number and pres Esc key." This is after clicking the "next" button precisely as I did in the first segments, then all of a sudden it stops working. Am I doing something wrong? Does anyone know what to do here? I can't click on either the source or target text, nor the segment numbers along the side, it's like the program has gone half dead.

2. The instructions for these CAT tools are not exactly always intuitive. They include a lot of jargon that a beginner user doesn't know, without explaining the terms, and I can't find a good manual for it written in non-techy speak. I'm a good translator who's not very techy and this is something I need and want to learn. I'm finding it quite frustrating.

Can anyone recommend a place to find good tips for the beginner about how to use the tool in the first place, in normal language? (I've read all the help sections on the program itself, and not finding good help for my specific issue.)