Similis version 1.4.5. from Lingua et Machina
Thread poster: alvanice
alvanice
alvanice
Local time: 08:38
English to French
+ ...
Nov 11, 2005

Does anybody know (or work with) this translation tool for Word, PDF and TXT files? I've just had a demonstration by one of their representatives and it seems to work pretty well. I'd be glad to hear from you about that. Thank you!

Barnaby Capel-Dunn
Barnaby Capel-Dunn  Identity Verified
French to English
Pretty good Nov 11, 2005

Hi Alvanice

I just recently bought Similis too and am feeling my way with it, but I must say I'm rather impressed with what I see. I can't say that I'm a great expert with CAT tools (my only other experience is with Logiterm) but my initial judgement is that Similis scores in its ability to recognise what it calls "chunks" (parts of segments) and not just segments in previously created bitexts. This is potentially a great advantage.
I've written to the editor suggesting that t
... See more
Hi Alvanice

I just recently bought Similis too and am feeling my way with it, but I must say I'm rather impressed with what I see. I can't say that I'm a great expert with CAT tools (my only other experience is with Logiterm) but my initial judgement is that Similis scores in its ability to recognise what it calls "chunks" (parts of segments) and not just segments in previously created bitexts. This is potentially a great advantage.
I've written to the editor suggesting that they create a user's forum. Or perhaps someone could do this at proz?

Best

Barnaby
Collapse

EdithM
EdithM
English to French
Similis - Good Nov 14, 2005

Hi,
I agree with Barnaby. It’s very helpful to have the translations not only of sentences but also of parts of sentences. Similis uses a linguistic analyser and identifies "nominal groups" and their translations.