Thread poster: Dr. Andrew Frankland

Dr. Andrew Frankland  Identity Verified
Spain
Local time: 14:14
Member (2007)
English
+ ...
Sep 15, 2006

First of all my apologies if this post is in the wrong forum -- I'm sure one of the moderators will move it if it is. Secondly, this topic may have been covered before. If so, I would appreciate it if someone could direct me to the appropriate link.

Now on to my question: is there any advantage of working with Trados rather than Wordfast? As far as I can tell, although I'm no expert, both seem to do pretty much the same thing even though the price difference is considerable. Can anyone with experience of the two explain the pros and cons of each? Most jobs advertised seem to require Trados, although in light of the excellent article by Andrei Gerasimov (www.proz.com/doc/222), the end-client doesn't seem capable of distinguishing between work done in Trados and that done in Wordfast.

Thanks in advance for your contributions.

Direct link Reply with quote

Heinrich Pesch  Identity Verified
Finland
Local time: 15:14
Member (2003)
Finnish to German
+ ...
As long as you can work in Word Sep 15, 2006

Wordfast will do the job, but if you get ttx-files, you need TagEditor with Trados Workbench. And if someone sends you a Trados TM you need Trados to convert it for Wordfast.
I use both.
Regards
Heinrich

Alexey Ivanov  Identity Verified
Russian Federation
Local time: 15:14
English to Russian
If you want to have more jobs choose Trados Sep 15, 2006

From my experience: about 60-70 % of my jobs are ttx files which you cannot do in Wordfast. Besides, if you buy SDL Trados 2006 you will also get SDLX - a fine tool in which you can use Trados Multiterm Termbases and which in many respects is more handy and user-friendly than Trados for files other than ttx. So Trados will pay off. I have been using Trados and SDLX for more than 4 years now and the extra jobs I get for Trados have long ago paid off the expense.