https://www.proz.com/forum/chinese/130469-manchester_or_imperial.html

Manchester or Imperial?
Thread poster: jinbn11
Mar 17, 2009

Hi,

I have a MA degree in Foreign Linguistics and Applied Linguistics from a university in China.

I want to further my study in the UK.

I have offers from the University of Manchester (PhD in Translation Studies) and Imperial College (MSc Scientific, Technical and Medical Translation with Translation Technology).

Of them, I cannot make my decision where to go.

If there're anyone who have taken the programme or are aware of the cour
... See more
Hi,

I have a MA degree in Foreign Linguistics and Applied Linguistics from a university in China.

I want to further my study in the UK.

I have offers from the University of Manchester (PhD in Translation Studies) and Imperial College (MSc Scientific, Technical and Medical Translation with Translation Technology).

Of them, I cannot make my decision where to go.

If there're anyone who have taken the programme or are aware of the courses, please give me some advise.

Thanks ^-^
Collapse

James_xia
James_xia  Identity Verified
China
English to Chinese
+ ...
Comparing them upon your expectation Mar 17, 2009

I have worked with an agency for overseas study (the largest one in the city) for 4 years. I have taken on many cases of helping the applicants in choosing their destination. But limited to the time here, I can give a little practical advice:

1 School- There is no absolute distinction between the majors, except for the prestige known by the applicants, especially the students in China, who usually care much about the fame of a school.:) So you have to take the first step sole upon y
... See more
I have worked with an agency for overseas study (the largest one in the city) for 4 years. I have taken on many cases of helping the applicants in choosing their destination. But limited to the time here, I can give a little practical advice: