Using Google translator from Simplified to Traditional Chinese and viceversa
Thread poster: mdesantis
mdesantis
Local time: 21:47
Jul 16, 2009

Hello all

I work for the digital sales department of a company in the UK. We are currently translating our sites in Simplified and Traditional Chinese.

I am a translator myself, from English and Russian into Italian so I am aware of how bad online translators are.

I don't speak any Chinese but I will need to oversee the translation of the sites I am responsible for, into Traditional and Simplified Chinese.

Someone told me Google translator works well to switch from SCH to TCH and viceversa. Is it true?! My experience tells me not to believe them.

Any comment from Chinese translators would be very welcome!

Many many thanks,
Marina

Direct link Reply with quote

Xiaochuan Cao
China
Local time: 04:47
English to Chinese
+ ...
Generally ok, but... Jul 17, 2009

Simplified and Traditional Chinese are in fact pretty much the same language. So it's essential "intra-lingual" translation.

As the naming suggests, "simplified" Chinese transform many complex Chinese characters into simpler ones, reducing the number of "strokes" in character, and thus allow faster and easier handwriting, and perhaps also facilitating learning.

There is a list, which you can find in many bigger and older Chinese dictionaries, where you can match the simplified characters with the complex (traditional ones). I guess that this is the kind of work that computers actually do better than human. So in this regard, Google can really do very well translating between TCH and SCH, since it's not really "translating", but merely "matching" and "replacing."

The problem is that in some cases, two or more traditional characters are transformed into one same simplified character. So I guess there might be some problem for Google to translate from SCH into TCH.