https://www.proz.com/forum/chinese/283030-how_can_uk_based_translator_best_receive_payment_from_chinese_company.html

How can UK based translator best receive payment from Chinese company?
Thread poster: James Laughton
James Laughton
James Laughton  Identity Verified
United Kingdom
Local time: 07:42
Chinese to English
Mar 11, 2015

Hello

I am a UK based translator and I am negotiating with an (international) China based company. The method of payment is proving to be a stumbling block. It seems, for them, very difficult to make an international payment.

For the first job, they stated they can only pay to a China bank account (after I had completed the job). I told them I do not have a China based account as I am based in the UK (which is what I told them at the beginning), and so they made arrange
... See more
Hello

I am a UK based translator and I am negotiating with an (international) China based company. The method of payment is proving to be a stumbling block. It seems, for them, very difficult to make an international payment.

For the first job, they stated they can only pay to a China bank account (after I had completed the job). I told them I do not have a China based account as I am based in the UK (which is what I told them at the beginning), and so they made arrangements to make an international payment (it seems the process is very troublesome and long for them and I am waiting 2 month later to receive it--this is not the issue, as they are a reputable company.)

However, they have again stated that for us to sign a long term agreement, they can only pay into a China bank account. It seems that it is not impossible to make an international payment but they don't want the bother, or their bureaucracy doesn't allow it.

So my question is, is there a way for me to open a bank account in China or any other simple way (eg online) that payment can be arranged? What do other translators do in this situation?