https://www.proz.com/forum/chinese/54182-invite_a_joint_diagnosis_of_this_user_instruction_%E4%BC%9A%E8%AF%8A%E8%BF%99%E7%AF%87%E4%BD%BF%E7%94%A8%E8%AF%B4%E6%98%8E.html

Pages in topic:   [1 2] >
Invite a joint-diagnosis of this user instruction 会诊这篇使用说明
Thread poster: Hanyi Magnusson
Hanyi Magnusson
Hanyi Magnusson  Identity Verified
Bermuda
Local time: 13:44
English to Chinese
+ ...
Aug 29, 2006

A friend came to me with a '3 in 1 Car Kit For iPod & iPod Mini' user instruction printed on the back of the package since he knows I am a English Chinese translator. As a native English speaker, he said he finally realised how important a good translation meant in everyday's life...

I read through this small piece and felt heavy in my heart (although it actually was quite amusing). As professional translators, we should probably take more responsibilities at our hand whenever pos
... See more
A friend came to me with a '3 in 1 Car Kit For iPod & iPod Mini' user instruction printed on the back of the package since he knows I am a English Chinese translator. As a native English speaker, he said he finally realised how important a good translation meant in everyday's life...

I read through this small piece and felt heavy in my heart (although it actually was quite amusing). As professional translators, we should probably take more responsibilities at our hand whenever possible so such things will happen less frequent (The source text is unknown, the only clue I found is the 'made in China' mark, however, it does not mean the source text is in Chinese. This is the reason I posted this thread so that we can all give a diagnostic view. Mine is that it is a poor machine/on-line translation with no editing, and the source text was potentially in Chinese):

" Operation instructions
1. Insert some cigarette ends of ipod Auto Kit in some cigarette devices of automobile of yours, and adjust the suitable angle, so that your convenient operation I Pod.