Upgrade DJV X2 Pro to Workgroup – does a freelancer really need it?
Thread poster: Pavel Tsvetkov
Pavel Tsvetkov
Pavel Tsvetkov  Identity Verified
Bulgaria
Local time: 20:06
Member (2008)
English to Bulgarian
+ ...

Moderator of this forum
Aug 28, 2012

Dear All,

I own a license for DJV X2 Pro. There is an opportunity now to upgrade to Workgroup as part of the current promotion.

The question is: is it worth the price tag?

I am a freelance translator and I almost never outsource. Even if I did it more frequently, DJV X2 is not the most requested by clients, so it is currently used more often than not for "personal consumption".

Also: 99% of the important tools are active in the Pro version, Wor
... See more
Dear All,

I own a license for DJV X2 Pro. There is an opportunity now to upgrade to Workgroup as part of the current promotion.

The question is: is it worth the price tag?

I am a freelance translator and I almost never outsource. Even if I did it more frequently, DJV X2 is not the most requested by clients, so it is currently used more often than not for "personal consumption".

Also: 99% of the important tools are active in the Pro version, Workgroup seems not to have anything of crucial interest.

I would love someone to prove me wrong on that (I am looking for an excuse to buy

Kind Regards,
PTs
Collapse

Dominique Pivard
Dominique Pivard  Identity Verified
Finnish to French
Workgroup is (mostly) a misnomer Aug 29, 2012

Pavel Tsvetkov wrote:
Also: 99% of the important tools are active in the Pro version, Workgroup seems not to have anything of crucial interest.

As I see it, Workgroup is mostly a misnomer nowadays in the case of Déjà Vu.

Restricting the number of TM's/TB's that can be used simultaneously doesn't have much to do with workgroups: freelancers too can have accumulated a number of databases and be willing to use more than five at the same time. Besides, competitors don't have such a restriction.