Termium
Thread poster: Guy Bray
Guy Bray
Guy Bray  Identity Verified
United States
Local time: 07:35
French to English
Jan 20, 2005

I'm looking for answers from translators with practical experience of Termium. One, is it so much better than the GDT that the cost is justified; and Two, what are the pros and cons of the online versus the CD version?

Thanks

Rosalind Lobo
Rosalind Lobo  Identity Verified
Local time: 10:35
French to English
prefer Termium Jan 20, 2005

Hi, Guy:
I've been freelancing for seven years - started with the CD version of Termium & went to the on-line version 1 1/2 years ago when I upgraded my computer. My vote is certainly for Termium vs. the Grand dictionnaire terminologique, although I use them both in tandem: Termium provides a sub-menu with a list of the entries that precede and follow the term I'm querying, so if it doesnt find my term, it provides me with approximate equivalents to check out. I also prefer Termium since i
... See more
Hi, Guy:
I've been freelancing for seven years - started with the CD version of Termium & went to the on-line version 1 1/2 years ago when I upgraded my computer. My vote is certainly for Termium vs. the Grand dictionnaire terminologique, although I use them both in tandem: Termium provides a sub-menu with a list of the entries that precede and follow the term I'm querying, so if it doesnt find my term, it provides me with approximate equivalents to check out. I also prefer Termium since it only requires entering the nouns of the term being checked - no prepositions or conjunctions - so there's a better chance of an approximate match. (I've also had instances of GDT's equivalents not being particularly accurate.)
When it comes to Termium on CD versus on-line, I'd recommend the on-line version since it's constantly being updated. Also, I myself find it more user-friendly.