Off topic: Why golfing ain't easy
Thread poster: Harry Bornemann
R&A Decisions on the Rules of Golf
Player Discovers Own Ball Is in Hole After Playing Wrong Ball
A player played to a blind green and putted what he thought was his ball. He then discovered that his own ball was in the hole and that the ball he had putted was a wrong ball.
What is the ruling?
Since the play of the hole was completed when the original ball was holed (Rule 1-1), the player was not in breach of Rule 15 for subsequently playing a wrong ball.
Ball Adhering to Face of Club After Stroke
A player plays a stroke from wet sand or soil and the ball adheres to the face of the club. What is the ruling?
In equity (Rule 1-4), the ball should be dropped, without penalty, as near as possible to the spot where the club was when the ball stuck to it. But see also Decision 14-4/1.
With the introduction of the gutta percha ball a new rule provided that if a ball broke up in flight another ball could be dropped without penalty where the largest piece was found.
| || || |
Are you getting enough fresh air Harry?
To report site rules violations or get help, contact a site moderator:
You can also contact site staff by submitting a support request »