New FT freelance fish in the translation ocean?
Thread poster: L. Russell Jones
L. Russell Jones
L. Russell Jones  Identity Verified
Local time: 10:19
German to English
May 4, 2003

I have a difficult decision ahead of me this week – whether to continue working in my corporate (computer-related) job, which is being moved overseas next month, or take the plunge into the cold water as a FULL-time freelance (German-English) translator.

Regarding my qualifications, my degree is in chemistry and human nutrition. I’ve had no formal education in the art of translation but I do have four years’ experience as an in-house translator (German-English) of pat
... See more
I have a difficult decision ahead of me this week – whether to continue working in my corporate (computer-related) job, which is being moved overseas next month, or take the plunge into the cold water as a FULL-time freelance (German-English) translator.

Regarding my qualifications, my degree is in chemistry and human nutrition. I’ve had no formal education in the art of translation but I do have four years’ experience as an in-house translator (German-English) of patents etc. in the areas of chemistry, pharmacology, biochemistry, medicine, toxicology, biotechnology etc. and several years’ experience as a part-time freelancer (ranging from occasional jobs to approximately 20 hours per week). I have always enjoyed my part-time translation work far more than my corporate job.

My main questions are as follows:

1. It is possible, in the current state of the translation industry, to earn a ‘decent’ living that can support a family? (I currently live in Germany)

2. How necessary would it be for me to obtain a formal translation education? If so, are there any part-time AND online options?

3. Would you recommend establishing partnerships with other translators (in my case, for German-English-German) to reach economies of scale in advertising, marketing etc. If so, what are your experiences?