Moving to US: SSN problem
Thread poster: Ivy (X)
Ivy (X)
Ivy (X)
English to Indonesian
+ ...
May 31, 2003

Hi everyone,
I have been a translator for quite a while, but now I move to US for marriage. I just took a translation job (through email--like when I was in my country), but the company asks for my SSN. The problem is I can not use my SSN for work (or tax purpose) yet since I haven't got work authorization from the ins (still in the process). Is there anyone who have some idea how to solve this case?

Gayle Wallimann
Gayle Wallimann  Identity Verified
Local time: 11:44
Member (2004)
French to English
+ ...
Don't work yet! May 31, 2003

Ivy,
Don't compromise your status as a new resident. Wait until you are legally allowed to work or you may have serious problems with the US government. It took quite awhile for my husband (a French citizen, I am American) to be able to work in the US back in the 70's, I don't know how long it takes now, but I imagine that it isn't very much faster. Be patient, don't risk it!
Gayle

swisstell
swisstell
Italy
Local time: 11:44
German to English
+ ...
SSN for work in the USA May 31, 2003

I fully subscribe to what Gayle says: do not work until you get a SSN that clearly allows you to do so (there are various SSN including one which indicates "not for work" in which case you ought to abide by the rules). Good luck and welcome to the USA.

Suzanne Blangsted (X)
Suzanne Blangsted (X)  Identity Verified
Local time: 02:44
Danish to English
+ ...
work in the US May 31, 2003

Working without the SSN is illegal. Payments given to you are listed with the IRS for tax purposes by the company who pays you. The IRS will know if you earn any money. If you don't have a SSN, you are in trouble. In some cases, a non-citizen or person who does not have a work permit will be deported. I suggest, if you have accepted work that you send it back or give it to someone you know who already is registered with a SSN.

Devis Kolonja (X)