Thread poster: Whiz

Whiz  Identity Verified
Turkey
Local time: 01:01
English to Turkish
+ ...
Sep 25, 2008

Hi eveybody!

I am a native Turkish Translator and I am planning to move somewhere in Europe (Spain, Italy or UK). In which country I can find a translation job?

Thanks,

Handan

Direct link Reply with quote

Wolfgang Jörissen  Identity Verified
Belize
Dutch to German
+ ...
Inhouse or freelance? Sep 25, 2008

With your source language being English, the UK and Ireland would probably be first choice, although - I hate to discourage you, but... - the choice of inhouse positions for Turkish is probably limited.

If freelance is an option for you, you can potentially be based anywhere. Advice from other users is to follow very shortly

[Edited at 2008-09-25 11:09]

Whiz  Identity Verified
Turkey
English to Turkish
+ ...
TOPIC STARTER
I see some companies are working with Turkish Sep 25, 2008

Dear Wolfgang,

Thank you for your immediate response. I prefer to find an inhouse position first but until I find a job in that position I will probably continue to work as a freelancer. I see that some companies (in their profile) are indicating that they are working with Turkish and I am sending my resume to those companies. Do you think it won't work?

xxxLatin_Hellas
United States
Local time: 00:01
Italian to English
+ ...
Mining and automotive Sep 25, 2008

I know that a lot of Italian mining and automotive companies have direct investments in Turkey, probably also Spanish and UK companies as well.

If you have training or experience in metallurgy or manufacturing, this could be a good niche market to research for translation business, most likely as a freelancer.

Why do you want an inhouse job?

[Edited at 2008-09-25 11:40]

Whiz  Identity Verified
Turkey
English to Turkish
+ ...
TOPIC STARTER
I prefer inhouse position cause... Sep 25, 2008

Hi Latin _Hellas!

I have an experience in automotive industry. But I have no idea how can I make a research in this industry.