How to Get Established?
Thread poster: Larisa Migachyov
Larisa Migachyov
Larisa Migachyov
United States
Local time: 17:16
Russian to English
Jun 11, 2003

So, just one more "how-to-get-that-first-job" question. I'm (almost) fully bilingual in Russian and English, with a slight preference for English (i.e. that's my "native" language). I'm also studying Italian - but I don't know it too well yet. I do not have any formal translator qualifications (though I have now joined the ATA), but I have translated a book (from Russian to English) for a friend of my parents. However, since the book is self-published, this is not really going to give me any... See more
So, just one more "how-to-get-that-first-job" question. I'm (almost) fully bilingual in Russian and English, with a slight preference for English (i.e. that's my "native" language). I'm also studying Italian - but I don't know it too well yet. I do not have any formal translator qualifications (though I have now joined the ATA), but I have translated a book (from Russian to English) for a friend of my parents. However, since the book is self-published, this is not really going to give me any connections in the publishing world, or in the translation world. Can someone advise me on how I can get that first job that will lead to other jobs, even though I have no qualifications other than an engineering degree and a self-published book? I'm posting bids here, but apparently, no one wants to take a chance on someone with no experience. I can't really blame them.

Any advice is welcome.

Larisa
Collapse

Narasimhan Raghavan
Narasimhan Raghavan  Identity Verified
Local time: 05:46
English to Tamil
+ ...
In memoriam
Welcome to the fraternity, my fellow engineer Jun 11, 2003