https://www.proz.com/forum/getting_established/118520-job_posts_and_privacy.html

Job posts and privacy
Thread poster: Silvia Barra (X)
Silvia Barra (X)
Silvia Barra (X)  Identity Verified
Italy
Local time: 01:10
English to Italian
+ ...
Oct 20, 2008

Hallo to all. I'm new both as a freelance translator and in this forum. I'd like to share with you my issue regarding privacy. I'm a full-time translator since few months, even if I have an extensive experience in this work. For this reason I've started working with a VAT number only this year. In many cases the job posters require me a proof of my job, by means of invoices, orders, and the like. Apart that I'd prefer they value me with a translation test, it does not seem right to me that other... See more
Hallo to all. I'm new both as a freelance translator and in this forum. I'd like to share with you my issue regarding privacy. I'm a full-time translator since few months, even if I have an extensive experience in this work. For this reason I've started working with a VAT number only this year. In many cases the job posters require me a proof of my job, by means of invoices, orders, and the like. Apart that I'd prefer they value me with a translation test, it does not seem right to me that other people can pry in my affairs! With these posters I'm honest and I say just what I've written here, and I try to provide other proofs of my work, but all time I'm rejected. I'm going to be a little bit frustrated. I think that the value of a translator should be demonstrated by a proof or a sample of his/her previous work. What do you think? If the request of the invoices is so common, well, I'll try to resign myself...
Thank you and bye for now
Silvia
Collapse

Stephanie Wloch
Stephanie Wloch  Identity Verified
Germany
Member (2003)
Dutch to German
Which agencies? Oct 20, 2008

Ciao Silvia,
Silvia Barra wrote:
In many cases the job posters require me a proof of my job, by means of invoices, orders, and the like.