https://www.proz.com/forum/getting_established/118802-certification_nz_lawyer_without_translation_qualification.html

Certification (NZ lawyer without translation qualification)
Thread poster: Nadescha Vester
Nadescha Vester
Nadescha Vester  Identity Verified
Austria
Local time: 12:55
German to English
Oct 24, 2008

Hello Everyone,

I have a question about carrying out certifications. I have looked around the forums quite a bit and have found various threads on this topic, but none have really helped me to find an answer to my specific situation, which is the following:

I am a fully qualified lawyer (i.e. admitted to the bar) here in New Zealand (although I do not hold a current practising certificate as I am not employed as a lawyer).
I have been working as a freelance trans
... See more
Hello Everyone,

I have a question about carrying out certifications. I have looked around the forums quite a bit and have found various threads on this topic, but none have really helped me to find an answer to my specific situation, which is the following:

I am a fully qualified lawyer (i.e. admitted to the bar) here in New Zealand (although I do not hold a current practising certificate as I am not employed as a lawyer).
I have been working as a freelance translator for a few years now (German > English), but I do not have a translation qualification or any form of accreditation.
My clients are based all over the world.

If a client wants me to certify a translation, can I do this in my capacity as a lawyer, although I do not have a translation qualification? I.e. can I write on the translation something to the effect of "I certify that this is a true and accurate translation..."?
Or do I need a translation qualification to do certifications and another lawyer (notary public in Europe) witnesses my signature?
Or can another lawyer simply certify the translation I have completed (although I have no translation qualification)?