Thread poster: N. Hewitt
N. Hewitt  Identity Verified
Mexico
Local time: 01:06
Member (2008)
Spanish to English
+ ...
Dec 7, 2008

I, of course, am new here. I have some experience translation, and have been involved extensively in volunteer education, translation and other types of work. I would love to recieve critique of my overall presentation. (my CV, my comments, anything at all that would help me attract clients. Should I buy a membership? I currently have no work and want to get started with some projects. I would really like to find the work here online. Can you help me??? I thank you in advance.

Direct link Reply with quote

Nicole Schnell  Identity Verified
United States
Local time: 23:06
English to German
+ ...
Hello Nathaniel, welcome! Dec 7, 2008

Here are a few comments:

1. Your CV contains mistakes (I spotted 4 or 5 at first glance). The word "proofreader" followed by a typo probably doesn't leave the desired first impression.

2. The fields of expertise listed on your profile page don't go hand in hand with your CV. Example: "Advertising/PR" (because it's listed as your #1 field of expertise on your profile page) isn't backed by any proof of formal training and/or experience in your CV.

Such things can take a lot of credibility out of any presentation.

Buying a membership is always a brilliant idea.

HTH.

Best,
Nicole

N. Hewitt  Identity Verified
Mexico
Local time: 01:06
Member (2008)
Spanish to English
+ ...
TOPIC STARTER
Excelent Dec 7, 2008

Thank you. I knew it was a good idea to post my question. I have corrected some mistakes. I have also tried to rearange my fields to reflect my experience. Also, I bought my membership! Any other ideas to get work/improve my look? Where to apply, what else to say on my profile, etc??? I can't wait to get my first job here. I love translation am thrilled with the idea of earning a living with it. Thank you so much for your time and observations.

Astrid Elke Witte  Identity Verified
Germany