Off topic: Introducing myself: I'm a native Chinese speaker and have been living in the USA for 6 years now.
Thread poster: Xiaohong Zhou

Xiaohong Zhou
Local time: 03:57
English to Chinese
+ ...
Apr 28, 2009

Hello everyone,

This is my first time here. I really like this community. Hopefully soon I will build up my profile and come here on a regular basis.

Right now I just want to briefly introduce myself and get acquainted with people. I'm a native Chinese speaker and have been living in the USA for 6 years now. As of my career, I first worked as a full time English teacher in China; currently I work for a small U.S. company while I do some teaching and tutoring of Chinese to American students.

Since 2001, I started doing translation and interpretation work sporadically and really enjoy it. I hope to explore more on this path, that's why I'm here. I'm glad that I found PROZ and found a wonderful group of professionals like you.

I look forward to getting to know you.

Sincerely,

Xiaohong Zhou

Maya Gorgoshidze  Identity Verified
Georgia
Local time: 11:57
Member (2004)
English to Georgian
+ ...

Hello Xiaohong, Apr 29, 2009

Nice to have you in our great virtual community!
I hope you will enjoy the translation workplace.

See you aroundicon_smile.gif
Cheers from Georgia,
Maya

Luisa Ramos, CT  Identity Verified
United States
Member (2004)
English to Spanish
Welcome, Xiaohong Apr 29, 2009

There is a lot of good stuff at Proz. Read the articles, search the forums, learn what is happening in your language pair. You being a teacher I trust you know your language well. Chinese translators are in high demand. Send your CV and sample translations to agencies; practice during idle times and have a colleague with as good a knowledge of your dialect as you or better edit your text and give you feedback.

Welcome and good luck!

Xiaohong Zhou
English to Chinese
+ ...
TOPIC STARTER
Thanks for the good suggestions, Luisa! Apr 29, 2009

Luisa Ramos wrote: