Paula Borges  Identity Verified
Brazil
Local time: 10:04
Member (2010)
English to Portuguese
+ ...
May 26, 2009

Hello people! I am new to Trados!

I have been working with Media and Communication but always had a great passion for language, I taught myself english, and I am a brazilian native, but being a portuguese citizen in a portuguese family, both variations are easy for me.

I have decided to become a translator since that's what I really like to do. My passion for language and writing would make my work always exciting!

I am currently looking for opportunities to translate so I can gain more experience (that's why I joined proz), and I just finished a course in CAT Tools.

I was very excited with the possibility of using Corpora I must say, and I didn't find Wordfast that difficult.
But the thing is: I don't like using CAT tools. Maybe I am old fashioned, but specially when working with different kinds of files I find that I take more time figuring out what's going on with the CAT tool than I do focusing on the text.

I notice that a lot of companies demand that you work with Trados. I wonder if they really know what they mean. I don't think someone translates better just because they are using Trados.

Having that said, I am not familiar with the tool. I find it to expensive and complicated.

Is it possible for any translator today work without using Trados?

Another question is regarding the Iolet Examinations: DipTrans. Has anyone sat through it? Would you recommend it?

Thank you

[Edited at 2009-05-26 12:54 GMT]

Direct link Reply with quote Turn social sharing on.
Like 15

B D Finch  Identity Verified
France
Local time: 15:04
Member (2006)
French to English
+ ...
IoLet Jun 1, 2009