Legal Translation or Audiovisual Translation? In urgent need of replies
Thread poster: emily83
emily83
emily83
Local time: 02:52
Jun 19, 2009

Good afternoon everyone,
I was hoping you could give me some advice regarding career options in the vast and highly competitive world of translating.
First let me tell you a bit about myself.
I graduated with a degree in Foreign Languages and Cultures in 2006 in Rome, the course focused mainly on literature, language and general knowledge studies.
Since then, I have given Business English and French Studies in a private institute and done the occasional translation from
... See more
Good afternoon everyone,
I was hoping you could give me some advice regarding career options in the vast and highly competitive world of translating.
First let me tell you a bit about myself.
I graduated with a degree in Foreign Languages and Cultures in 2006 in Rome, the course focused mainly on literature, language and general knowledge studies.
Since then, I have given Business English and French Studies in a private institute and done the occasional translation from Italian to English and vice-versa as well as English conversation lessons (I am fully bilingual).
However, I'm not getting any younger and I have come to realize after some careful consideration, that translation is the field for me: I would like to concentrate on my native languages (despite having a fairly good command of French and Spanish). The translation fields I'm most interested in are Legal Translation and Audiovisual Translation.
I have done some research and seen that the universities of Surrey and Roehampton offfer MA courses in AVT.The University of London offers a course in Legal Translation, but it's open specifically to law graduates and legal secretaries.
I am going to obtain a Tefl certificate to teach English, so I can start earning something in the meantime.